This is Jesus The church year is a liturgical cycle that follows the life of Jesus, from birth through death, resurrection and the promise of eternal life.

Advent is the beginning of the church year. During four Sundays of Advent we prepare for the coming of the Christ Child at Christmas and anticipate the second coming of Christ at the end of time. The twelve days of Christmas celebrate the birth of Jesus.  On January 6, Epiphany brings the Christmas cycle to a conclusion. During the Epiphany season we remember the gifts presented by the Magi, and focus on the baptism and ministry of Jesus.

Ash Wednesday begins the season of Lent, when Christians recount the suffering, death and burial of Jesus. The forty days of Lent are a solemn and disciplined time in preparation for the joyous celebration of the Resurrection at Easter.

The Easter Triduum (also called the Paschal Triduum or the Three Days) begins on Maundy Thursday, continues through Good Friday and concludes with the celebration of Easter. For Christians, these days have extraordinary significance, marking a journey from death to life.  In the celebration of Easter Christians proclaim the Resurrection of Our Lord. Christ’s victory over death carries hope for the world and the assurance of eternal life.

The festival of Pentecost – fifty days after Easter – brings Easter to a conclusion and celebrates God’s gift of the Holy Spirit to the church. The Time after Pentecost, also called Ordinary Time, is the longest cycle of the liturgical calendar.  During this season Christians focus on the ministry of Jesus and the mission of the church in the world.

The last Sunday of the liturgical cycle is the festival of Christ the King, when the church focuses on the cosmic reign of God. We are reminded that Christ the King is the ruler of the universe, the Alpha and Omega, the beginning and the end.

Sundays and Principal Festivals

First Sunday of Advent
Second Sunday of Advent
Third Sunday of Advent
Fourth Sunday of Advent
Nativity of Our Lord
Christmas Eve
Christmas Day
First Sunday of Christmas When January 1 falls on a Sunday, the Name of Jesus is normally celebrated on that day.
Second Sunday of Christmas
Epiphany of Our Lord If celebration of the Epiphany of Our Lord is not possible on January 6, it may be observed on the second Sunday of Chrismas (January 2 or later). When January 6 falls on a Sunday, it is celebrated as the Epiphany of ur Lord.
Time after Epiphany
Baptism of Our Lord
First Sunday after Epiphany
Second Sunday after Epiphany January 14-20
Third Sunday after Epiphany January 21-27
Fourth Sunday after Epiphany January 28-February 3 (If before Transfiguration)
Fifth Sunday after Epiphany February 4-10 (If before Transfiguration)
Sixth Sunday after Epiphany February 11-17 (If before Transfiguration)
Seventh Sunday after Epiphany February 18-24 (If before Transfiguration)
Eighth Sunday after Epiphany February 25-March 1 (If before Transfiguration)
Transfiguration of Our Lord
Last Sunday after Epiphany
Ash Wednesday
First Sunday in Lent
Second Sunday in Lent
Third Sunday in Lent
Fourth Sunday in Lent
Fifth Sunday in Lent
Sunday of the Passion
Palm Sunday
Monday in Holy Week
Tuesday in Holy Week
Wednesday in Holy Week
The Three Days
Maundy Thursday
Good Friday
Resurrection of Our Lord The Resurrection of Our Lord, the last of the Three Days, is also the first of the fifty days of Easter.
Resurrection of Our Lord The Resurrection of Our Lord, the last of the Three Days, is also the first of the fifty days of Easter.
Vigil of Easter
Easter Day
Second Sunday of Easter
Third Sunday of Easter
Fourth Sunday of Easter
Fifth Sunday of Easter
Sixth Sunday of Easter
Ascension of Our Lord
Seventh Sunday of Easter If the Ascension is not celebrated on the previous Thursday, it may be observed on this day.
Vigil of Pentecost
Day of Pentecost The fiftieth day of Easter
Time after Pentecost
The Holy Trinity
First Sunday after Pentecost
Sundays after Pentecost May 24-November 19
Christ the King November 20-26
Last Sunday after Pentecost